Lecanora ecorticata J.R. Laundon

Until recently, a taxonomically obscure species that served as a waste bin into which unspecified sterile sorediate crusts with usnic acid and zeorin were sorted. However, true L. ecorticata does not produce zeorin and contains unspecified terpenoids and fatty acids. Moreover, this taxon probably belongs to the family Ramalinaceae and a new genus Lithocalla has been established for it (Orange 2020).

Some collections from the Czech Republic, named Lepraria or Lecanora ecorticata, were later identified as Lecanora orosthea, L. flavoleprosa or L. stanislai. Other similar crusts still remain in the database under this name, although they are clearly distinct from Lithocalla ecorticata. Some of the material could theoretically belong to the little-known species Lecanora leuckertiana, which is characterized by a woolly, thick and stratified thallus (Zedda 2000, Kukwa 2006).

Literature: Zedda L. (2000): Lecanora leuckertiana sp. nov. (lichenized Ascomycetes, Lecanorales) from Italy, Greece, Morocco and Spain. – Nova Hedwigia 71: 107–112. Kukwa M. (2006): Notes on taxonomy and distribution of the lichen species Lepraria ecorticata comb. nov. – Mycotaxon 97: 63–66. Orange A. (2020): Lithocalla (Ascomycota, Lecanorales), a new genus of leprose lichens containing usnic acid. – Lichenologist 52: 425–435.

taxonomic classification:

Ascomycota Lecanoromycetes Lecanorales Lecanoraceae Lecanora

most frequented synonyms:Lepraria ecorticata

Red List (Liška & Palice 2010):DD – data deficient
Red List (Malíček 2023):NE – not evaluated

Occurrence in the Czech Republic

All records: 14, confirmed 0. One click on a selected square displays particular record(s), including their source(s).


record after the selected year
record before the selected year
records without date
Doubtful and erroneous records are not displayed.
credible record
doubtful record
erroneous record
record without revision

Altitude preferences

Distribution Timeline

Substrate type

Substrate preferences

© Botanický ústav AV ČR, v. v. i. 2020–2024